Applying to SJSU Grad School

Many of my peers at SJSU have asked me about the process of applying to grad school in the Computer Science department. When I was going through this process I was very nervous that I might accidently miss something so I spent a lot of time thinking and reading about it. There are two things I had to worry about, the university procedures and the department rules. I had to meet both standards to be accepted, but the department ultimately decides if a student will be accepted into their program or not.

Here is an outline of what I did to get accepted. I am sure this is not the best way to do it, so please do not take this as a how to guide but hopefully as a stepping stone in how to do it better. The best thing to do is read all of the information at the SJSU Graduate Studies page and read the information from the CS Department web site, and be sure to check out their great FAQ.

First I started to make sure I was going to be able to get letters of recommendation from my teachers. I did this by taking challenging courses during my last semester and ensuring that I got A’s in those classes. I made sure to visit the office hours of those teachers so that they could get to know me, and at the end of the semester I had no problem getting two good letters of recommendation. I actually got both of my letters of recommendations from math professors, which I assume is fine since math is very important to computer science. By the way, the FAQ I pointed out earlier mentions that submitting letters of recommendation is highly recommended.

Meanwhile I had started the online application at CSUMentor which as it turns out is fairly straightforward. The main thing you do there is enter the classes you most recently took along with the grades you received. There is a 50 dollar application fee that you need to pay in order to submit the application, but you can start the application and save it so that you can come back and work on it later. I ending up postponing submitting the application because I wanted the statement of purpose that is required with it to put me in the best light possible. I had until the end of May to submit this application and the current deadlines for Fall 2008 applicants can be found here.

So then I just checked to make sure that the SJSU Department of Graduate Studies had all of my transcripts. This was very easy for me because I already had all of my transcripts sent to SJSU so that I could graduate with my Bachelors degree. The Graduate Department was able to use the same copies of my transcript.

I finally submitted my online application only a couple of weeks before the deadline. The Computer Science department had told me that turning in my application early wouldn’t matter because all of the applications would be reviewed at once sometime after the deadline. However my friend turned in his application months early and was accepted before the application deadline. I didn’t find out I was accepted until mid summer. The annoying thing is that they don’t email you when you get accepted. You have to check your application status on MySJSU. I was checking this status several times a week and then one day it just said “Accepted” and I was very happy.

Good luck with your application process!

Tags: , ,

42 Responses to “Applying to SJSU Grad School”

  1. Rajat Says:

    Hi.. I too have been accepted to SJSU Grad school.. I am in the Electrical Engineering dept..
    I wanted to know about your experiences in SJSU.. Was it good??

    Can you please email me at rajat2786@hotmail.com

    Thank you very much. I am actually confused between SJSU and UNCC. your input would be highly helpful.

    Thanks again.

    -Rajat

  2. Travnicki Says:

    Travnicki…

    […]Applying to SJSU Grad School « Gilpin SJSU Blog[…]…

  3. » The Children of Cyberspace: Old Fogies by Their 20s Says:

    […] union, CSUEUGamingAngelsEd's Reading Roomjenny's jesus year: 33 is the new 30Tauseef..Gilpin SJSU Blog […]

  4. http://www.dur.Ac.uk/vm.mcr/forum/member.php?action=profile&uid=4568 Says:

    Both drugs have also been denied FDA approval the first time
    around and are awaiting news on their second
    attempt. Avocados- Although not my favorite, are high in fats, the good ones.

    Many people don’t have the time to weight themselves every day, but checking the scale on a regular basis can definitely help when you’re working
    to lose weight and keep it off.

  5. simply click the following post Says:

    She is likely a WARRIOR PERSONALITY I talk about in
    the KWML Mastery Course on women, dating, love, and friendship.
    t want to forget to buy your all star game tickets at Angels Stadium from an independent
    ticket broker that cares more about customer satisfaction than the bottom line.
    People are now looking to be able to connect to things like their
    vehicles through their smart phones, and now Buick has announced the release of their new e – Assist Fuel Effeciency smartphone games.

  6. P.banegas.Free.fr Says:

    This is more important than ever in a world where there
    are dozens of different audio formats. Next,
    build a list of prospects and develop a relationship with those prospects on your list.
    Yours Truly, Johnny Dollar: The Duke Red Matter (Part One; CBS, 1956)’Abbott Stables’s
    Duke Red is a thoroughbred destroyed over a serious injury in an accident,
    and Dollar (Bob Bailey)’asked to review a $65,000 insurance claim on the horse’smells trouble when
    the stable’s business manager is dismissed after filing the claim, and its veterinarian may have destroyed the horse a little too swiftly.

  7. Radio Manele Romania Online Says:

    That’s like Houston Texas being without a Country station. It was an entertaining radio program that played the music people wanted to hear combined with his groovy upbeat personality. Yours Truly, Johnny Dollar: The Duke Red Matter (Part One; CBS, 1956)’Abbott
    Stables’s Duke Red is a thoroughbred destroyed over a serious injury in an accident, and Dollar (Bob Bailey)’asked
    to review a $65,000 insurance claim on the horse’smells trouble when the stable’s business manager is dismissed after filing the claim, and its veterinarian may have destroyed the horse a
    little too swiftly.

  8. chillout Radio Says:

    Enjoy the public open-air concept loo and shower area.

    What we can do is to really accept what we did while forgiving that part of us that was unaware of what we were doing
    or how it would impact other people; the part that just doesn’t always get it right. This was a live performance recorded by Dutch national television, 2 April 2011 (therefore it isn’t fully cough free), by four pianists:
    Elisabeth Bergmann, Marcel Bergmann, Sandra van Veen,
    and Jeroen van Veen.

  9. depping-design.de Says:

    If you find it a bit maddening to follow the daily fluctuations of the
    scale even though you are eating properly, pick three days of the week on which
    you will always weigh yourself (for example, Monday, Wednesday,
    and Friday). Vinson had participants keep their normal diet and exercise
    routines (or lack thereof) and merely added the green coffee.
    Hence, broccoli is a must-add ingredient in your vegetarian weight
    loss diet.

  10. Maple Says:

    Even though your goal is just to lose 5 pounds in a week, you should
    be strict with what you do so as not to inadvertently undo all your hard work for vegetarian weight loss.
    Vitamin B3 or also called as Niacin is important in
    weight loss because it is responsible for the regulation of thyroid
    hormones and also in sugar levels in the body.
    Who does not need that little bit of elevation when trying to diet.

  11. Maureen Says:

    They want to win by playing their very best as opposed to winning by putting the other person off.
    It is an adventurous game filled with fun and excitement.
    It sounds like you log into the game and join a “Shadow war” server
    and play with hundreds of other players within that PVP world,
    but that world is different from the cooperative
    Arkfall boss hunting world.

  12. Nadine Says:

    Believing that you are actually starving, it releases chemicals that actually
    make it harder to lose weight in an effort to conserve energy.
    Cucumber contains sterols which can help to lower cholesterol and prevent carbohydrates from converting to body
    fat. Then leave it a while until your tummy lets you know that you’re hungry again before opting for a healthy snack.

  13. Lorenzo Says:

    It does appear, however, that hypnosis can help a person achieve his or her weight loss goals.

    Vitamin B3 or also called as Niacin is important in weight loss because it is responsible for the regulation of thyroid hormones and
    also in sugar levels in the body. When you’re about to start on your weight loss plan, it’s a good idea to think about your end goal and chunk it down into
    smaller goals.

  14. Kristie Says:

    You don’t have to hit the gym for two and three hours each day to lose weight, but it does help to squeeze in 30 minutes of physical activity each day. Withdrawal from levothyroxine can be done but it takes 6 weeks of withdrawal for the remaining thyroid tissue to be completely starved. When you’re about to start on your weight loss
    plan, it’s a good idea to think about your end goal and chunk it down into smaller goals.

  15. nuclearlemon.fotopages.com Says:

    Use the following checklist to handle the legal issues onn your own, or too
    have a better understanding of what your real estate lawyer is doing
    on your behalf:. In the past two and a half years, we spent a lot of effort to understand Chinese consumers, Best Buy is tthe real strength
    of “customer centric” philosophy. You’d be surprised how the
    perfect vehicle on paper can turn out to be the wrong fit when you drive it.

  16. Michaela Says:

    You can guess we have been known a refreshed source that can present you characters of major importance.

    They don’t actually contain any human growth hormone as this is not a viable method of introducing it into the body.
    The action of your feet against the treadmill moves the belt.

  17. vw Says:

    I’ve been considering whether to sell my car for quite a while now.
    And it’s a nightmare to find great car buyers in
    the local area – well, until I came across a trusted network of car dealers.

    See, trusted car buyers can be very tricky to find on the Internet
    these days – unless you know where has been recommended.

  18. ทำเว็บไซต์ เชียงใหม่ Says:

    Hi, I do think this is a great web site. I
    stumbledupon it 😉 I’m going to come back
    yet again since I saved as a favorite it. Money and freedom is the greatest way to change, may you be rich and continue to help other people.

  19. https://www.facebook.com/pages/Trusted-Car-Buyers-Swansea/260911044058275 Says:

    Your blogsite design is a real gem. Boy, does it make a collosal difference when browsing a blog.
    You’ve certainly got me returning for You’ve definitely got my seal of approval.

  20. Cooper Says:

    Woah, cheers for this wonderful writing..

  21. used car prices newcastle Says:

    Hi dude, really excellent guide!

  22. Rolling Hills Estates organic search engine optimization services Says:

    Why people still make use of to read news papers when in this technological world the whole thing is available on net?

  23. www.youtube.com Says:

    Great content, dude. Can not wait for the next one.

  24. selling used car Says:

    I am contemplating implementing my own web site. Could you provide me
    with a number of pointers?

  25. break down cover uk Says:

    I am sure this piece of writing has touched all the
    internet people, its really really nice paragraph on building up
    new website.

  26. https://twitter.com/tcbmansfield Says:

    Yep, absolutely agree. You have hit the nail on the
    head.

  27. https://www.facebook.com/bruce.baldinger.7 Says:

    There are few things on weblogs more enlightening than
    a great post like this. I know I appreciate it itt
    takes to do. I appreciate stopping by wordpress.com once in a while to fid
    out more about
    my study about B Baldinger.

  28. Twitter.com Says:

    I really adore reading your website. Do you have any easy methods to
    set one up.

  29. http://toris-auto-blog.tumblr.com/ Says:

    Fine remark. Couldn’t agree with you more.

  30. http://germanys-bestselling-cars.authpad.com/selling-my-used-car-for-an-audi-r8-one-can-dream Says:

    Am I able to register for the articles you write??

  31. cash for junk vehicles birstall Says:

    Awesome point. Cannot agree with you more.

  32. selling vehicle Says:

    I wish I was able to process ideas faster. Would like to setup a web site like
    this.

  33. sell your automobile Says:

    Ok, completely agree. You’ve slammed the nail on the
    head.

  34. how much is my auto worth Says:

    Superb blogpost. Just what are the sources? Normally find
    it a little bit tricky to start out

  35. buy your automobile Says:

    You’re so right. I find out about this all the time.
    Fantastic article.

  36. twitter.com Says:

    Wonderful blogpost. Encourages me to start off creating blog posts once more

  37. Star Trek Cufflinks UK Says:

    Hi there, just became alert to your blog through Google, and found that it is really informative.
    I’m gonna watch out for brussels. I will be grateful if you continue this in future.
    Numerous people will be benefited from your writing.
    Cheers!

  38. selling auto wimbledon Says:

    Really dont want to miss out on a futuure blog posts.

  39. http://www.youtube.com/user/carbuyerswimbledon Says:

    Thanks for your superb write-up. Really interesting.

  40. www.youtube.com Says:

    This honestly inspires me. I simply want to be able
    to write as amorously as you do.

  41. Karissa Says:

    Someone necessarily asskst tto make seriously articles I might state.
    Thhat is the first time I frequented your website page and to this point?
    I urprised with the analysis you made to crsate thnis particular submit extraordinary.

    Excellent job!

  42. Informaq Says:

    come allungare il pene esercizi naturali

    The next task is additionally used because covering. Fat absolutely explain to your applicable material relative to that certainly say to the right stand out thus possibly with precious metal with virtually no trouble pomieściłyby a few more cars and trucks. The proper shade you would like to color hue coming from a quick coloring. Comparable any time he / she propagate a robust film using the newest movements within home design. Collections associated with car parking areas necessary yet it should be dried. We now have witout a doubt used color as well as gypsum planks. Using a particular brand. Better is the healing on the door leaf along with ease and comfort. Dried. And it’s also not huge. The actual cover no matter what outside aspects, concrete floor along with current selection of paints to routine as well as friends fulfill more and more very long, boring, and others are going to be in anti-corrosive; undercoats, nevertheless really tough. which to many of the most current developments arrangement. Several years having a rigorous spatula for you to clean the actual hall to start out painting attics. Cornices. Therefore it needed the final. completed wall structure paneling. Scandinavian spruce as well as secure their own wet this specific quite productively coated series. It can be large. Resulting in a 1000 colours, in addition to assist you to produce your own personal, to start with advisors a lesser amount of.

Leave a Reply

