Visiting Calaveras County

My dad called me up this weekend and asked me to come visit my cousin Rich who I haven’t seen in a while. My cousin has a winery, Lavender Ridge, and a tasting room in Murphys. We stopped by and sampled some wines, and we saw his wife and his two daughters. It was a lot more fun than I expected. Murphys is a fun little town and might be a good place to go wine tasting if you are in the area. Its probably close to three hours from San Jose though.

Lavender Ridge

We actually rented a very nice house up the road in Arnold to stay the night in. I google mapped Murphy and Arnold in case anyone is interested in where they are (in the Sierra Mountains). The best part about the place we stayed was the beautiful view from the back deck, as you can see below. If you like the view you can see more about it or other rentals in the area at the Cedar Creek Realty Page.

Arnold Cabin View

All and all it was a pretty restful trip, which I needed after the Philippines, and I’m on my way back to San Jose on the train right now.

Leave a Reply

