Video Blogs Not Accessible

More and more I am finding that there are tons of great online content being produced on video. This is all very cool because it is kind of like having my own personal TV channel. The problem I have is that I never have the time to sit in front of my computer and watch these things. Actually its not that I don’t have the time, but for some reason, I just don’t like to watch them on my laptop, I’d much rather watch them on my iPod. Maybe it’s because whenever I’m using my laptop, I’m usually multitasking, reading some blogs while I respond to an email. Video blogs demand too much of my attention to do that. But there are lots of times when I have my iPod that I am doing nothing else and would love to watch the latest news from the Scoble Show or maybe a video taken at SJSU such as those on the Soapbox Prophet. What I’ve found though is that it’s not as easy as it should be to get those videos on my iPod in a timely manner. The coolest thing I’ve seen so far is the podcast/vodcast support built in to iTunes, but that’s not cutting it for me because I don’t want to have to subscribe to a feed to easily get a video onto my iPod. I use Google Reader and it would be nice if I saw a video linked to there to be able to just click a button and have it uploaded to whatever type of portable music/video player I have. I’ll be looking around for better ways to manage video blogs, if anyone has suggestions let me know.

UPDATE: Andrew Venegas pointed out to me that, even as I wrote this post, Google was improving the way its Reader handles video. I can’t wait to see more of this, so that watching news online become as easy as watching it on tv.

2 Responses to “Video Blogs Not Accessible”

  1. Andrew Venegas Says:

    There’s a program called FireAnt I find works VERY well. It’s more advanced than iTune’s, but it has a more features included with it. You subscribe to any feed, no matter what format, and it faithfully goes after it. Unfourtunately, besides using MusicMatch Jutebox, I’m afraid that there are a whole lot of sync programs out there for you ipod… you’d have to copy and paste files manually, otherwise.

    But if you’re looking for an alternative to Google Reader that allows quick access to the movie files, try using Google/ig. That way, you can view the posts and click for each movie. Even better (though it doesn’t have the integration of Google yet) is NetVibes (http://www.netvibes.com/), which shows you the complete posts and videos from all your favorite website within a single page. Check it out. See how you like it. Enjoy.

  2. Sean Gilpin Says:

    Yeah, its the whole moving files around thing that makes it hard for me. That sounds stupid coming out of a computer science majors mouth but its just to many tedious steps to do over and over again. Things that come out of a feed are easy to manage because your iPod will tell you which ones you’ve already watched and delete them when you sync. But like when I check out Scobles Google Reader Shared items there are some videos in there that I want but I’m not sure about the easiest way to get them in my iPod. I’m trying to see now if its possible to subscribe to a feed in iTunes that has videos along with text as is the case with his shared items. Or maybe someone has shared items feed that just contains interesting videos. If not sounds like a good idea to me. Thanks for the comment, I’ll check that stuff out.

Leave a Reply

