BitTorrent and Fedora

Fedora Core 6 was released yesterday and I’m trying to download all 3.4 gigs of it over the Internet.  On the fedora website it mentioned that the preferred method of download was through torrent.  I’ve heard that BitTorrent has been trying to push their technology as a model for distributing large media files legaly.  Downloading the 3.4 gig ISO file for Fedora would probably be a good test of the torrent system, considering there are definitely other people trying to download the same file right now and BitTorrent relies on many people trying to download the same file simultaneously.

So I started downloading the ISO with BitTorrent, but download speed averaged at about 20kB/s which I was very unsatisfied with.  Then I started downloading it from the University of Santa Clara which is a couple of miles away from here and I am getting over 250kB/s which is very nice.  Plus I’m pretty sure that downloading it straight from the university using FTP is more efficient.  Typically with P2P file sharing schemes there is all this chatter going on in the background that takes up a large portion of the University bandwith, from what I understand.  So basically, despite all the hooplah, I think BitTorrent is pretty lame.  Cool idea though.

2 Responses to “BitTorrent and Fedora”

  1. Andrew Venegas Says:

    Plus, most P2P applications use small amounts of memory in your background, so depending on how many programs the person you are downloading from is running, the slower the transfer rate will be. FTP is definitely the way to go for common huge files like Fedora. Oh, and if you like the new Fedora, you might try Ubuntu or Puppy Linux. Both also good OS’s.

  2. SeanG Says:

    I definitely noticed the difference, thanks for the comment. I tried Ubuntu and I liked it. I like that it supports a lot of hardware that the other distros don’t. To get my wireless on my laptop to work in Fedora I have to download a bunch of drivers and firmware and install them, but in Ubuntu it just works. I was actually hoping that there might be some improvement in that respect in this new version of Fedora, but no luck.

Leave a Reply

