Earthquake!

Everyone at SJSU should have felt the earthquake tonight. It was pretty exciting but I hope no one got hurt. I was in the middle of class, Math 271a with Dr. Stanley, when it hit. The whole building was shaking pretty hard and at one point it got worse and jerked my desk around. We all just sat there and waited to see if it would get much worse. Afterward the class ran over to our professors office to check out the USGS website to see how big and close the quake was. When I finally left the building I realized that everyone had already evacuated and there were hundreds of people waiting around outside. It looked like there were a few accidents on the streets around SJSU and on Highway 280.
Intensity Map
I sent text messages to my parents about ten minutes after the quake and then made a cell phone call with no problems. For some reason a lot of people were able to make phone calls from their cells while other weren’t. It might have something to do with the carriers they had, I have Verizon.

It turns out the quake was close by on the Calaveras fault. Hopefully no one go hurt and this event will help people get prepared for larger earthquakes to come. Just last week I was reading about how the Hayward fault is ripe for a large quake in the Mercury News.

Other accounts of the quake from SJSU:
Steve Sloan
Lindsay Bryant
Chris Hockett
Edris Amin
Andrew Venegas
Robert Scoble

Tags: ,

One Response to “Earthquake!”

  1. Andrew Venegas Says:

    It’s good to hear that you’re alright. I had some dishes break, and my cat definitely got freaked out. (Scaredy-cat joke?)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

